IMAT 2015 Q22 [Nobel Peace Prize]

Which one of the following public figures was NOT awarded the Nobel Peace Prize?

A. Aung San Suu Kyi
B. Nelson Mandela
C. Willy Brandt
D. Mahatma Gandhi
E. Martin Luther King

Aung San Suu Kyi was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 1991 in recognition of her brave struggle for democracy in Myanmar . She has continued to be a leading figure in developing democracy, both during the years when she was kept captive by the military and after her subsequent release.” Therefore A is incorrect.

“The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 1993 to Nelson R. Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa.” Therefore B is incorrect.

Willy Brandt was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1971 for his efforts to strengthen cooperation in western Europe through the EEC and to achieve reconciliation between West Germany and the countries of Eastern Europe. He was the first Social Democrat chancellor since 1930.” Therefore C is incorrect.

Mohandas Gandhi (1869-1948) has become the strongest symbol of non-violence in the 20th century. It is widely held – in retrospect – that the Indian national leader should have been the very man to be selected for the Nobel Peace Prize. He was nominated several times, but was never awarded the prize.” Therefore D is the correct answer.

“At the age of thirty-five, Martin Luther King, Jr., was the youngest man to have received the Nobel Peace Prize. When notified of his selection, he announced that he would turn over the prize money of $54,123 to the furtherance of the civil rights movement.” Therefore E is incorrect.